Guides‎ > ‎

Common Checks

What do I mean by "Common Checks"?

You can monitor ("check") many different things using Nagios:

This can be done many different ways:

  • Using clients like NRPE, NSClient++
  • Without clients like WMI, SNMP, SSH

The purpose of these pages is to give specific examples of how this can be done.

It is assumed that you have the required client/agent installed and configured. These steps can found in other sections of this site.

What's with the version numbers?

You will see multiple examples with headings like this:

NSClient++ 0.3.9
NSClient++ 0.4.1
NSClient++ onwards

Basically there has been a re-write of the NSClient++ agent by the developer and he has introduced newer versions of the check commands. However a lot of people don't have time to upgrade to the latest version, they just want the command that works with their version.

The different heading will give you examples on how to do the same thing with the different versions of NSClient++. If the example says "NSClient++ onwards" and you are on a newer version like, you can assume that same example will work on your newer version.

Also, I am specific with some version like "NSClient++ onwards" because there was most likely a bug in the previous version. This saves lots of time when troubleshooting problems!